Dear colleagues and friends,

It is my great pleasure to invite you to the 14th European Meeting on the Molecular Biology of the Pneumococcus (Europneumo).

The Europneumo is held every two years and attracts leading European researchers, but also a constantly increasing number of non-European colleagues, actively involved in research on the versatile human respiratory pathogen Streptococcus pneumoniae (the pneumococcus). The conference is devoted to the exchange of the latest discoveries and achievements on the molecular biology, epidemiology, pathogenesis, treatment and prevention of pneumococci and pneumococcal infections. The Europneumo offers leading experts and young researchers a perfect environment to present and discuss state-of-the-art scientific knowledge in a comfortable atmosphere, while leaving sufficient time for personal contacts and social interaction. 

The Europneumo 2019 will be held from June 11-14, 2019 hosted by the University of Greifswald, Germany.

I am very much looking forward to welcoming you!
Sven Hammerschmidt


05/23/2019 The final programme is online

05/11/2019 The tentative programme is online

04/11/2019 The preliminary programme is online

04/05/2019 The abstract submission is closed

Deadline for abstract submission is extended: 04/01/2019

01/08/2019 Abstracts can be submitted.

01/03/2019 The registration is now open. The submission of the abstracts should be possible within the the next few days.

Important Dates

01/04/2019 Start registration & abstract submission
04/01/2019 Deadline for abstract submission
04/30/2019 Notification of acceptance
04/30/2019 Deadline for registration
05/01/2019 Deadline for full payment of fees

Local Organising Committee

Responsible for scientific content and abstract review

Sven Hammerschmidt, Professor, University of Greifswald, Germany

Thomas Kohler, Scientist, University of Greifswald, Germany

Susann Räth, Scientific Coordinator, University of Greifswald, Germany

Nikolai Siemens, Junior group leader, University of Greifswald, Germany

Franziska Voß, Scientist, University of Greifswald, Germany

International Scientific Committee

Simone Bergmann, PhD, TU Braunschweig, Germany

Jeremy S. Brown, Professor, University College Hospital, London, United Kingdom

Angela Brueggemann, Professor, Oxford University, United Kingdom

Marien I. de Jonge, Associate Professor, Radboud University Medical Center Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Leiv Sigve Håvarstein, Professor, Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Oslo, Norway

Birgitta Henriques Normark, Professor, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden

Juan A. Hermoso Domínguez, Professor, Instituto Química-Física Rocasolano, CSIC, Madrid, Spain

Aras Kadioglu, Professor, Liverpool University, United Kingdom

Mario Rámirez, Associate Professor, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Jan-Willem Veening, Professor, Université de Lausanne, Switzerland

The conference is funded by